skip navigation

8 Champions crowned at Folkstyle Nationals

By Jared Lawrence, 04/03/17, 2:00PM CDT


8 Champions Crowned at Folkstyle Nationals. 41 All-Americans.

What a great weekend of wrestling. Youth Champions are Jarrett Wadsen and Tyler Wells. Cadet Champions are Lincoln Shinn, Greg Kerklviet, Emily Shilson. Junior Champions are Jake Gliva, Alex Lloyd and Emily Shilson.

Jarrett Wadsen won the Intermediate 80 lbs weight class. Jarrett upset the #1 seed 1st match and never looked back. Tyler Wells won the Novice 70 lbs weight class. Tyler dominated his way through the tourney giving up zero takedowns. 

Lincoln Shinn won the Cadet 170 lbs weight class. Lincoln had a second period pin in the finals. Greg Kerkvliet won the 220 lbs weight class. Greg gave up 20 lbs and the closest match was still 16-7. Emily Shilson won the Cadet 100 lbs Girls title. Her closest match was 10-1. 

Jake Gliva won the Junior 126 lbs weight class. The finals was a rematch of the state high school finals. Jake won 7-3. Alex Lloyd won the 152 lbs weight class with a major decision 11-3 in the finals. Emily Shilson also wrestled in the Junior division and won the 100 lb Junior title as well with a 10-0 major decision in the finals. 

There was 4 runner-ups at the tournament as well. Tyson Charmoli (lost in OT in ultimate tie breaker.) Koy Buesgens, Kole Marko, and Jakob Bergeland.

Full list of results

Folkstyle National Results      
Kids     Cadets  
Ashton Charmoli 5th   Javan Kaufman 8th
Liam Collins 8th   Nick Novak 3rd
Jarrett Wadsen 1st   Walker Ingham 4th
Tyson Charmoli 2nd   Joey Thompson 7th
Parker Lyden 4th   Trayton Anderson 6th
Tyler Wells 1st   Nick Dunagan 7th
Zach Hanson 4th   Lincoln Shinn 1st
Wyatt Ingham 8th   Danny Striggow 5th
Leonard Tukhlynovych 5th   Grant Parrish 7th
Koy Buesgens 2nd   Rowan Morgan 3rd
Nolan Reiter 6th   Greg Kerkvliet 1st
Brendan Howes 4th      
Kyle Boeke 4th   Juniors  
Kole Marko 2nd   Zach Miller 5th
Hunter Lyden 4th   Jake Gliva 1st
Cael Berg 5th   Dylan Droeggemueller 4th
Aj Aitkin 3rd   Jakob Bergeland 2nd
Mathew Sloan 4th   Tyler Shilson  4th
      Alex Lloyd 1st
      Calvin Germinaro 4th
      Luke Clark 5th
      Austin Brenner 8th
      Bobby Striggow 6th