skip navigation

Fuller, Marko, Schlough win WI State, 114 qualify for MN/WI state

By Brandon Paulson, 02/24/19, 11:15PM CST




Nathan Fuller was the guy that was close to putting everything together, but hadn't made that next step in his wrestling. He knew technique, was strong and athletic, but didn't always perform up to his abilities. But, something clicked this fall. All the coaches were talking about him, "he has it", "he has come a long way", "he is looking great". Nathan went out to the Journeyman tournament in NY, and came away a champion and was wrestling with confidence. We were all looking forward to him competing at Super 32. But, the week of the tournament, he breaks his foot. Although he had a couple set backs this fall, he also had a win over one of the Nations best in Carson Manville. His High School coach Kevin Black did a great job of getting him ready for the WI High School State Tournament, and Nathan delivered with his first state title at 152lbs!

When you have a brother that won 4 WI state HS titles, you have some expectations on you(especially from Mom ;)) But Freshman Kole Marko exceeded all expectations by winning a state title at 138lbs for St. Croix Falls.  He was fortunate to have his High School coach, Dan Clark, as more than a coach, but also a great mentor. Kole has always been a hard worker, with great technique, but you didn't know if he had the confidence to put it all together. But he showed he believed in himself this past weekend on his way to a state title!

Brock Schlough wins his 4th WI State Title! Brock is an extremely explosive wrestler, who dominated his competition this year. Brock will head to St. Cloud State next year, and we see big things coming for him!

Mike Smith and Walker Ingham have been making the trek over to PINnacle from the start. It has been great to watch the improvement through the years!

Congrats to the other Wisconsin State Placers and Participants, Taedon Nichols 6th, Walker Ingham 3rd, Jordan Bonte 4th, Charlie Stuhl 3rd, Luke Thaemert 4th, and Mike Smith 2nd.

Congrats to the 114 MN/WI High School State Qualifiers and their High School Coaches! 

Picture credits to Lisa Flanary(Marko pic), and Tara Cernohous

Minnesota/Wisconsin State Qualifiers      
First Last School Division Weight Finish
Matthew Redden Benilde St. Margarets AA 106  
Hunter Frost Farmington AAA 106  
Jimmy Heil STMA AAA 106  
Matt Hogue East Ridge AAA 106  
Brendan Howes Anoka AAA 106  
Calvin Lonnquist Wayzata AAA 106  
Emily Shilson Mounds View AAA 106  
Zachary Silvis Park AAA 106  
Jore Volk Lakeville North AAA 106  
Luke Thaemert St. Croix Falls D2 WI 106 4th
Austin Gabbert Watertown/Mayer Lutheran AA 113  
Joey Thompson Totino Grace AA 113  
Logan Vaughan Kasson-Mantorville AA 113  
Jed Wester Annandale/Maple Lake AA 113  
John Babineau Andover AAA 113  
Bennett Colagiovanni Stillwater AAA 113  
Paxton Creese Shakopee AAA 113  
Zach Hanson Lakeville North AAA 113  
Brad Howes Anoka AAA 113  
Javan Kaufman Mounds View AAA 113  
Patrick Lockwood Minneapolis Washburn AAA 113  
Brandon Psyk STMA AAA 113  
Taedon Nichols Luck/Frederick/Grant/Siren D2 WI 113 6th
Chase DeBlaere Simley AA 120  
Robby Horsman Kasson-Mantorville AA 120  
Michael Loger Totino Grace AA 120  
Eddie Simes Litchfield AA 120  
Rocco Visci Big Lake AA 120  
Hunter Wilsey Mahtomedi AA 120  
Zyan Hall Mounds View AAA 120  
Ben  Lunn Shakopee AAA 120  
Nick Novak New Prague AAA 120  
Jared Spohn Sauk Rapids-Rice AAA 120  
Javon Taschuk Stillwater AAA 120  
Cole West Woodbury AAA 120  
Kyle Boeke Princeton AA 126  
Brandt Bombard North Branch AA 126  
Jake Svihel Totino Grace AA 126  
Reid Ballentyne Stillwater AAA 126  
Bryce Dagel Eden Prairie AAA 126  
Tyler Jones Shakopee AAA 126  
Vito Massa East Ridge AAA 126  
Austin Moscho Rocori AAA 126  
Ryan Scherber Buffalo AAA 126  
Jordan Bonte Baldwin-Woodville D2 WI 126 4th
Walker Ingham Amery D2 WI 126 3rd
Jake Fitzpatrick Mahtomedi AA 132  
Jerry Simes Litchfield AA 132  
Ryan Sokol Simley AA 132  
Trayton Anderson Northfield AAA 132  
Cole Becker STMA AAA 132  
Kieler Carlson Stillwater AAA 132  
Alex Kowalchyk Coon Rapids AAA 132  
Adam Mickelson Apple Valley AAA 132  
Mannix Morgan Mounds View AAA 132  
Michael Murphy Eagan AAA 132  
Charlie Stuhl Ellsworth D2 WI 132 3rd
Cael Berg Simley AA 138  
Carter Entinger Watertown /Mayer Lutheran AA 138  
Bryce Fitzpatrick Mahtomedi AA 138  
Brice Bischof Lakeville South AAA 138  
Mitch Engebretson Mounds View AAA 138  
Dylan Hanson STMA AAA 138  
Trey Kruse Stillwater AAA 138  
Hunter Lyden East Ridge AAA 138  
Andrew Wick Eagan AAA 138  
Kole Marko St. Croix Falls D3 WI 138 Champion
Sean Howk New Ulm Area AA 145  
Tanner Kroells Delano AA 145  
Austin Sonnek North Branch AA 145  
Nick Dunagan Mounds View AAA 145  
Reid Lawrence Mahtomedi AA 152  
Gavin Nelson Simley AA 152  
Adam Sylvester Totino Grace AA 152  
Connor Thorsten Foley AA 152  
Brendan Dunagan Mounds View AAA 152  
Xander Falkenstein Eden Prairie AAA 152  
Austin Hamel Farmington AAA 152  
Hayden LeMonds STMA AAA 152  
Tate Torgerson Cambridge-Isanti AAA 152  
Nathan Fuller River Falls D1 WI 152 Champion
Mike Smith Amery D2 WI 152 2nd
Brock Schlough Boyceville D3 WI 152 Champion
Bennett Berge Kasson-Mantorville AA 160  
Anthony Arens Totino Grace AA  160  
Tyler Benson Elk River AAA 160  
Wyatt Lidberg STMA AAA 160  
Connor Raines Shakopee AAA 160  
Tyler Raway Forest Lake AAA 160  
TJ Turinske White Bear Lake AAA 160  
Antony Tuttle Stillwater AAA 160  
Chase Vought Farmington AAA 160  
Peter Hansen Hudson D1 WI 160 DNP
Kale Hopke Amery D2 WI 160 DNP
Hudson Day Stillwater AAA 170  
Riley Habisch Buffalo AAA 170  
Carl Leuer STMA AAA 170  
Danny Reynolds Andover AAA 170  
Hunter Hall Mahtomedi AA 182  
Jack Casey Shakopee AAA 182  
Bruce Muehlhauser Anoka AAA 182  
Matt Sloan White Bear Lake AAA 182  
Blaine Guthrie Baldwin-Woodville D2 WI 182 DNP
Grant Parrish Kasson-Mantorville AA 195  
Bennett Tabor Simley AA 195  
Pedro Castillo Forest Lake AAA 195  
Joey Johnson Shakopee AAA 195  
Rowan Morgan Mounds View AAA 195  
Lincoln Shinn Willmar AAA 195  
Isaac Atchison Blaine AAA 195  
Danny Striggow Orono AA 220  
Tommy Johnson Shakopee AAA 220  
Jagger Schack Osseo AAA 220  
Greg Kerkvliet Simley AA 285